Formerly known as Interfaith Forum on Religion, Art, and Architecture (IFRAA), this group has changed its name to Interfaith Design (ID). You asked us for an easier, shorter name, and after two years of deliberation we've embraced this name. Whether art or architecture, we share our passion of designing for faith communities.

Interested in volunteering for Interfaith Design? Click here to fill out our volunteer interest form!


The AIA Interfaith Design (ID) Knowledge Community encourages and supports excellence in the design of worship spaces and their accoutrements. Interfaith Design is an association of professionals whose primary interest is religious facilities in a broad array of traditions. We value an interfaith forum for the exchange of ideas relating to religion, art, and architecture.

Meet the Leadership and Get Involved   AIA KnowledgeNet Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


Religious Art and Architecture Design Awards Program

The annual awards program honors the best in architecture, liturgical design, and art for religious spaces.  Learn more.

Interfaith Design members are encouraged to subscribe to Faith & Form, an independent quarterly journal that focuses one issue per year on the winners of the ID/Faith & Form Awards for Religious Art and Architecture.

Elbert M. Conover Memorial Award

This award recognizes non-architects for their contributions to the field of religious architecture.  Learn more.

Edward S. Frey Award

This award recognizes AIA architects for their contributions to the field of religious architecture.  Learn more.


  • Awards program now open!

    The Faith & Form/ID International Awards Program
    for Religious Art & Architecture is open for submissions! Visit the awards site now for details, and submit your project! If you have questions, please contact the awards administrator.


  • Posted in: Interfaith Design

    Special Theme Issue: The Architecture and Art of Community This fall, Faith & Form will publish a theme issue on "The Architecture and Art of Community" and is searching for complete projects, projects ...

  • Posted in: Interfaith Design

    ​Will this event be general architecture or will it be specifically geared towards Interfaith Forum on Religion and Architecture?  I have tried for many years to find a good conference on Religious institutions, ...

  • Posted in: Interfaith Design

    The 2018 Faith & Form/Interfaith Design International Awards Competition, allied with the American Institute of Architects (AIA), is now open for submissions at faithandformawards.com. This international ...