Interfaith Design

 View Only

Community HTML

Park Plaza Synagogue in Chicago
Park Plaza Synagogue in Chicago

Quick Links

Who we are

The AIA Interfaith Design (ID) Knowledge Community encourages and supports excellence in the design of worship spaces and their accoutrements. Interfaith Design is an association of professionals whose primary interest is religious facilities in a broad array of traditions. We value an interfaith forum for the exchange of ideas relating to religion, art, and architecture. Join us!

2022 Faith and Forum Awards — Part IV

  • 1.  2022 Faith and Forum Awards — Part IV

    Posted 05-31-2023 04:01 PM

    Hello Interfaith Design community, we've arrived at the last week of May which means the final Faith and Form Awards post has arrived. 
    Click here to view any of the previous parts: Part I, Part II, and Part III.

    Registration is still open for both the conference and awards program + reception as part of the International Religious Art & Architecture Awards Program & Reception for the 2022 award winners as part of A'23, the AIA Conference on Architecture 2023. Come join us in San Francisco next week to congratulate the 2022 Faith and Form Award winners and have your fill of seminars, practicums, tours, and expos to build relationships and grow. 

    Baptistry Pool- Christ Our Hope Catholic Church
    Category: Award for Religious Arts

    Stephen Lee, Stephen Lee Architects
    Seattle, WA

    Jury Comments: This font is simply detailed, elegant with its infinity edge. There’s a strong connection in this font between the imagery of a tomb and the sacrament of baptism that is biblical in its references. Very well scaled for the sanctuary it resides in.

    Stations of the Cross
    Category: Award for Religious Arts

    Scott Parsons
    Sioux Falls, South Dakota

    Jury Comments: These unique and interesting mosaics are effective devotional objects that demand your attention. Displayed in a challenging church interior, these elements are assertive and relate to the church’s existing stained glass. They are little gems in a rather bleak space, that direct and focus prayer.
    Photography: Pietro Giraldo and Scott Parsons

    The Inclusive Icons of The Church of St. Francis Xavier
    Category: Award for Religious Arts

    Patricia Brintle
    New York, NY

    Jury Comments: This art installation finds a lasting way to add these pieces in the context of an historic church interior. Each icon has its own presence while supporting the older, larger Stations of the Cross artworks in new ways. A bold insertion.
    Photography: Donald Kennedy

    Don Mills Jamatkhana and Ismaili Community Centre
    Category: Award for Unbuilt Work

    Toronto, ON, Canada

    Jury Comments: This unbuilt work is monumental yet full of light. The geometric patterning throughout the design is in line with the faith tradition’s aversion of graven images. The calligraphy integrated with the architecture is a wonderful inspiration.

    Chapel in Mental Hospital Complex
    Category: Award for Student Work

    Zofia Jemioło
    Pruszków, Mazowieckie, Poland

    Jury Comments: This student design project is conceptually whole with a lot of depth. The research in this project is impressive, integrating spirituality with mental health. The design is very thoughtful and intentional, supports the clinical work of the hospital, and expresses the intersection of healing and spiritual guidance. The drawings are seductive.

    Sukkah Village 2021
    Category: Award for Faith Community Civic Engagement: Visual Arts, Performing Art, and Other Creative Collaborations

    Joshua Zinder Architecture + Design, LLC
    Princeton, NJ

    Jury Comments: This is a community-based project, reaching out to engage local people with visual art and creativity. It brings the community together through the making of architecture. The project is ambitious, well-intended, and beautifully designed and executed.

    Rachel Hernandez
    Rachel Hernandez Person
    Call for submissions: 2023 Religious Art & Architecture Awards program. Submit your project by 11pm on October 6. Click here to learn more.