Small Firm Exchange (SFx)

 View Only

hero image for SFX site

Leadership

Openings

Opportunities

Key Resources

Social Media


Who We Are

The mission of the AIA Small Firm Exchange (SFx) is to advance the mutual interests of architects practicing in small firms. The objectives of the AIA SFx are three-fold:

     1. Advocate the value of small firms, the national SFx, and local
         SFx groups, both within the AIA and to the public.
     2. Curate and disseminate the most pertinent resources and
         information, from the AIA & elsewhere, that benefit small firms.

     3. Inform the AIA of current issues facing small firms and areas
         in which current resources/information are lacking.


Approximately 75% of all firms within the AIA are small firms (10 employees or less), which equates to 14,288 small firms within the organization. 

~25% = sole practitioners = 4,750

~35% = 1-5 employees = 6,650

~15% = 5-10 employees = 2,850

We need to find ways to leverage that size for collaboration and influence, just like the individual large firms do.

Be sure to "Join our Community" !  This will ensure that you're a part of our mailing list and receive our quarterly newsletter and important small firm information.

Current SFx State Representatives

By Matthew Clapper AIA posted 04-28-2021 07:33 PM

  

State Representative Email
Alabama James A Brown Jr., AIA jbrown@boarchitects.com
Alaska VACANT
Arizona Devan Porter, AIA devan.porter@dsp.design
Arkansas VACANT
California Carmen Suero, Assoc. AIA cvsuero@gmail.com
Colorado TBA
Connecticut VACANT
Delaware Willard F. Hurd, AIA whurd@footprintarch.com
Florida Jason Hagopian, AIA jason@neuv.io
Georgia VACANT
Guam VACANT
Hawaii TBA
Idaho VACANT
Illinois Wei Yu, AIA weiyu@yuacollab.com
Indiana VACANT
International TBA
Iowa VACANT
Kansas VACANT
Kentucky James Guthrie, AIA jguthrie@hubweber.com
Louisiana VACANT
Maine VACANT
Maryland Joshua Mohr, AIA josh@mohrarchitecturestudio.com
Massachusetts Rebecca Rahmlow, AIA becky.suzanne@gmail.com
Michigan Jeffrey Ferweda, AIA jeffrey@sfarch.us
Minnesota VACANT
Mississippi VACANT
Missouri VACANT
Montana VACANT
Nebraska VACANT
Nevada Audrey L. De La Cruz, AIA audrey@cwxarchitects.com
New Hampshire VACANT
New Jersey Joshua Zinder, AIA jzinder@joshuazinder.com
New Mexico Douglas Heller, AIA doug@mullenheller.com
New York Heather Philip-O'Neal, AIA honeal@hppinternational.com
North Carolina Matthew Szymanski, AIA matthew@arxdesignco.com
North Dakota VACANT
Ohio VACANT
Oklahoma VACANT
Oregon Jennifer Wright, AIA jwright@rallymade.com
Pennsylvania Kevin Malawski, AIA kevin@karbonarchitects.com
Puerto Rico VACANT
Rhode Island VACANT
South Carolina VACANT
South Dakota VACANT
Tennessee Scott Busby, AIA sbusby@smeebusby.com
Texas Alyse Makarewicz, AIA Alysem@ambarchitects.com
Utah Dwight Yee, AIA dwight@processpllc.com
Vermont VACANT
Virgin Islands (U.S.) VACANT
Virginia VACANT
Washington Thomas Lawrence, AIA toml@lawrencearchitecture.com
Washington D.C. Ronald Schneck, Jr. AIA rschneck@square134.com
West Virginia VACANT
Wisconsin Jacob Morrison, AIA jacob@motisarch.com
Wyoming Lewis Matthew Miller, AIA lewismmiller@outlook.com

Get involved!


The American Institute of Architects actively promotes a diverse profession, including race, religion, gender, national origin, age, disability or sexual orientation. We strive to be an inclusive member group representing diversity of thought, geographic diversity, both traditional and non-traditional practice and as well as providing opportunities for seasoned professionals, associate members, and young architects.

The mission of the AIA Small Firm Exchange (SFx) is to advance the mutual interests of architects practicing in small firms.  1. Advocate the value of small firms, the national SFx, and local SFx groups, both within the AIA and to the public.  2. Curate and disseminate the most pertinent resources and information, from the AIA & elsewhere, that benefit small firms.  3. Inform the AIA of current issues facing small firms and areas in which current resources/information are lacking.


Requirements of an SFx State Representative

    • Serve as a liaison to the components in your state
    • Serve as a small firm advisor to the AIA SFx Board
    • Facilitate small firm content curation and disbursement
    • Passion to support our professional community, especially the needs of small firms
    • 4 - 6 hours per month including conference calls and personal tasks

TERM: 1 year term, renewable for up to 5 years total.

[Applications for 2023 will open in the fall.]

0 comments
177 views