Small Firm Exchange (SFx)

 View Only

hero image for SFX site

Leadership

Openings

Opportunities

Key Resources

Social Media


Who We Are

The mission of the AIA Small Firm Exchange (SFx) is to advance the mutual interests of architects practicing in small firms. The objectives of the AIA SFx are three-fold:

     1. Advocate the value of small firms, the national SFx, and local
         SFx groups, both within the AIA and to the public.
     2. Curate and disseminate the most pertinent resources and
         information, from the AIA & elsewhere, that benefit small firms.

     3. Inform the AIA of current issues facing small firms and areas
         in which current resources/information are lacking.


Approximately 75% of all firms within the AIA are small firms (10 employees or less), which equates to 14,288 small firms within the organization. 

~25% = sole practitioners = 4,750

~35% = 1-5 employees = 6,650

~15% = 5-10 employees = 2,850

We need to find ways to leverage that size for collaboration and influence, just like the individual large firms do.

Be sure to "Join our Community" !  This will ensure that you're a part of our mailing list and receive our quarterly newsletter and important small firm information.

Current SFx Board

By Matthew Clapper AIA posted 04-28-2021 11:13 PM

  

2022 SFx Board


Table Legend:

Bold
= Chair / Bold = Executive Committee

Representative email
Bart Shaw, FAIA bart@ibanezshaw.com
Bruce T. Fallon, AIA bfallon@wpa-architecture.com
Bruce Sekanick, FAIA bruce@phillips-sekanick.com
Chris Schmitt, AIA chris@roehrschmitt.com
Christian Jordan, AIA cjordan@pjarch.com
Dana Ellis, AIA dana@outpoststudioco.com
Darguin Fortuna, AIA dfortuna@flow-design-studio.com
David Corban, AIA dmc@davidcorban.com
Elizabeth Pacheco, AIA epf@fallonpacheco.com
Hayley Ruthrauff, AIA hayley@simbiotek.com
Jamie Walsh, AIA jamie@jamiewalshdesigns.com
Janet Bloomberg, FAIA janet@kube-arch.com
Jennifer Cosgrove, AIA jen.cosgrove@gmail.com
Jeremiah Russell, AIA jeremiah@roguearch.com
Julie Carpenter julie@aiacincinnati.org
Kurt Neiswender, AIA kurt@urbancolab.design
Matthew Clapper, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP mclapper@mad-start.com
Natalie J. Morgan, AIA, LEED AP natalie@morgan-architecture.com
Tatyana Bresler, AIA tatyanab@eglinbresler.com
Venesa Alicea AIA, NOMA, LEED AP BD+C, WELL AP valicea@nyvarch.com

Get involved!


The American Institute of Architects actively promotes a diverse profession, including race, religion, gender, national origin, age, disability or sexual orientation. We strive to be an inclusive member group representing diversity of thought, geographic diversity, both traditional and non-traditional practice and as well as providing opportunities for seasoned professionals, associate members, and young architects.

The mission of the AIA Small Firm Exchange (SFx) is to advance the mutual interests of architects practicing in small firms.   1. Advocate the value of small firms, the national SFx, and local SFx groups, both within the AIA and to the public.  2. Curate and disseminate the most pertinent resources and information, from the AIA & elsewhere, that benefit small firms.  3. Inform the AIA of current issues facing small firms and areas in which current resources/information are lacking.

 

Requirements of an SFx Board Member

    • Have served as an SFx State Rep previously (Not a requirement the first few years of the State Rep positions existence)
    • Help cover any currently unrepresented states.
    • Communicate & Collaborate with the AIA and other Knowledge Communities and Member Groups
    • Curate, Facilitate, and Disseminate small firm content.
    • Join a minimum of one internal workgroup (Outreach, Conference, or a Special Project)
    • Passion to support our professional community, especially the needs of small firms
    • 8 - 12 hours per month including conference calls and personal tasks
    • Time off to travel to SFx Annual Meeting: 2-days, travel-funded

 

TERM: Three-year term with an optional one-year extension.

 

[Join the SFx mailing list to be alerted when the application opens in fall 2022 for the 2023 term.]

 

0 comments
185 views