Academy of Architecture for Health

AAH Banner Story

Quick Links

Who we are

The Academy of Architecture for Health (AAH) provides knowledge which supports the design of healthy environments by creating education and networking opportunities for members of – and those touched by – the healthcare architectural profession.

COVID-19 resources for healthcare design

You can contribute information to the AIA COVID-19 project database, and view all submitted projects. Visit the Alternative Care Sites preparedness site to learn important areas to evaluate when selecting ACSs for the care and treatment of COVID-19 or surge capacity patients.

Explore additional resources for healthcare facilities >

AAH Scholarships and Fellowships

By Brian D. McLaren AIA, CAE posted 12-31-2017 12:00 AM


Herman Miller Healthcare Scholarship

Open - August 9, 2021 deadline

Herman Miller Healthcare sponsors young professionals seeking licensure to attend the HealthcareDesign Expo and Conference, the fall conference of the Center for Health Design/AIA Academy of Architecture for Health. Each selected recipient will receive a full conference pass and a stipend to offset travel, hotel room and meal costs.

Learn more >

AAH Foundation Fellowships

Closed for 2021

Griffin/McKahan/Zilm (GMZ) Graduate Fellowship in Health Facility Planning & Design: Fellowship award(s) range from $2,000–$7,500.

The George J. Mann, AIA Travel Prize: Sponsored by Ron Skaggs, FAIA, FACHA and Sondra Skaggs | Recipient prize amount is $4,000.

Learn more >

Arthur N. Tuttle Jr. Graduate Fellowship in Health Facility Planning and Design

Closed for 2021

The Tuttle Fellowship supports graduate students and young professionals seeking licensure, increasing their awareness of the needs and nature of healthcare facilities, attracting talented young architects and students to the field and advancing the knowledge of planning and design for healthcare environments. Awards are typically from $2,000–$10,000.

Learn more >

Healthcare Design's Best Under 40 (U40)

Closed for 2021

The U40 List is nomination oriented recognition to celebrate individuals under 40 years of age making a significant contribution to the advancement of healthcare design. Each year up to two individuals are selected to have their names added to the distinguished U40 List. The U40 List recipients receive a travel stipend to attend the Summer Leadership Summit (SLS). The SLS is an annual gathering of approximately 175 leaders in healthcare design from the U.S. and around the world. 

Learn more >

SLS Next Generation Scholarship

Closed for 2021

The Academy of Architecture for Health (AAH) and the American College of Healthcare Architects (ACHA) sponsor two young professionals seeking licensure to attend the Summer Leadership Summit (SLS). Each selected recipient will receive complimentary registration and be recognized during the event. 

Learn more >