Interfaith Design

Park Plaza Synagogue in Chicago
Park Plaza Synagogue in Chicago

Quick Links

Who we are

The AIA Interfaith Design (ID) Knowledge Community encourages and supports excellence in the design of worship spaces and their accoutrements. Interfaith Design is an association of professionals whose primary interest is religious facilities in a broad array of traditions. We value an interfaith forum for the exchange of ideas relating to religion, art, and architecture. Join us!

2019 Elbert M. Conover Award

Congratulations to our 2019 Conover awardee, A. Robert Jaeger, President of Partners for Sacred Places! 

A'20 announcement

Because of the rapidly changing circumstances, please refer to for the latest information on A’20 sessions and events.

Closes Thursday: Nominate an architect for the Frey Award!

  • 1.  Closes Thursday: Nominate an architect for the Frey Award!

    Posted 02-24-2020 17:07

    The Frey awards program closes for submissions on Thursday, February 27 at 5pm Eastern. If you were considering nominating an architect for this biennial award, don't forget to complete your submission in the next couple days!

    Edward S. Frey Memorial Award

    The Edward S. Frey Memorial Award recognizes architects for their contributions to religious architecture and support of the allied arts.  

    The award is named in memory of Rev. Dr. Edward S. Frey, who inspired architects to foster spiritual values in design and served as the Executive Director of the Commission on Church Architecture for the Lutheran Church of America.

    Submission details

    Eligible nominees for the Frey Award must be an architect member of the AIA. Nominations should consist of one letter of nomination from the submitter detailing how the nominee meets each of the three following award criteria:

    • Demonstrate a passion for and dedication to quality worship and sacred spaces
    • Foster spiritual values
    • Promote a cross-denominational community focused on religious arts and architecture.

    Please address letters of nomination to the Frey Award Jury.

    Optional: Submitter may request additional letters of support from up to five other people. Supporting materials may also be provided. These materials might include a resume, testimonials, imagery, a bibliography, etc. The supporting materials are limited to five letter-sized PDF pages.

    Submit now >

    Deadline: Feb 27, 2020 at 5pm ET

    Emma Tucker, Manager, Knowledge Communities
    The American Institute of Architects, Washington, DC