Executive Committee

Executive Committee

Ed VanceChancellor

Edward A. Vance, FAIA
Ed Vance Associates

Email Ed

Spouse: Ruby Vance


Edward Vance has served his clients, his community and the profession of architecture for more than three decades. Design excellence has characterized Mr. Vance’s distinguished career. His work has led to numerous design awards and significant commissions with major healthcare, commercial and hospitality clients. Edward has been awarded the AIA Nevada Young Architect Citation, the AIA Nevada Service Award and in 2006 he received The AIA Nevada Silver Medal, the highest honor bestowed on an architect in the state. He was elected to AIA’s National Board of Directors in 2010 where he served a three-year term receiving his Richard Upjohn Fellowship in 2012. He was elevated to the AIA College of Fellows in early 2014 and received the AIA Regional Silver Medal in October of the same year, the highest honor bestowed on an architect in a six-state region. Mr. Vance is actively registered as an Architect in seven states and is NCARB certified.



Vice Chancellor

Peter Kuttner, FAIA
Cambridge Seven Associates, Inc.

Email Peter

Spouse: Elaine Kuttner



Peter Kuttner is a Principal and past-President of CambridgeSeven, a Boston-based firm of architects, planners, urban designers, exhibit designers, and graphic artists. Cambridge Seven, which received the AIA Architecture Firm Award, is known for its work with museums, aquariums, visitors’ centers, hotels, academic buildings, transportation systems, and mixed-use developments. Peter is known, in particular, for his thoughtful design of spaces for informal and formal learning in aquariums, museums, and exhibits. Peter designed the Knock Knock Children’s Museum in Baton Rouge which just opened this past fall, and the Discovery Museum expansion in Acton, which opened last month. He recently expanded the New England Aquarium and completed the new Children’s Zoo at Franklin Park. Peter has provided master planning for the Museum of Science in Boston, the South Carolina Aquarium, and the Louisiana State Museum as well as architectural design for the new U.S. Marshals Museum in Fort Smith, Arkansas. He is currently serving as Principal-in-Charge for the Hohhot Children’s Discovery Museum in China and the new Mote Marine Aquarium in Sarasota, Florida. A graduate of the University of Michigan, Peter has been an active AIA member since student days, and is a past Boston Society of Architects (BSA) President, national AIA Board Member, and Vice President of AIA. He currently serves on the BSA Board, The BSA Foundation Board, is an Overseer Emeritus of the Boston Architectural College, and is the Bursar of the AIA College of Fellows. He contributed his architectural sketches to the BSA ChapterLetter for many years, created “Marginally Architecture” for the BSA magazine ArchitectureBoston, and continues to sketch around the margins.



John J. Castellana, FAIA
TMP Architecture, Inc.

Email John

Spouse: Barbara Castellana



John Castellana currently serves as Chairman of TMP Architecture, Inc.; a Michigan-based Architecture and Interior Design firm with offices in Bloomfield Hills and Portage, Michigan. Throughout his 45 year career, he has concentrated his efforts on the planning and design of innovative educational facilities that have received over 50 design awards. As TMP’s in-house educational planner, he oversees the conceptual development for all school projects that the firm is involved with. John was recently selected as Secretary of the College of Fellows Executive Committee. Following this two year office as Secretary he will serve as Vice Chancellor in 2020 and Chancellor in 2021.




Roger Schluntz, FAIA 

Email Roger


Prof. Roger Schluntz, FAIA, teaches at the School of Architecture and Planning at the University of New Mexico. He served as dean at UNM from 1999 until 2011, and previously as dean of architecture at the University of Miami.  Earlier Prof. Schluntz was the director of architecture at Arizona State University, where he later established and directed the Joint ASU/City of Phoenix Urban Design Program.

A past member of the NAAB and its elected Secretary, Schluntz has served on numerous accreditation team visits for architecture programs, and more recently for the Landscape Architecture Accrediting Board.  Schluntz was the Executive Director of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) from 1977-1980.  Establishing his long career in academia first as a faculty member at the University of Nebraska, he was actively involved in planning and transportation issues affecting the City of Lincoln.  The co-authorship of “The Nebraska Capitol and Environs Plan” resulted in a First Honor Award in Urban Design from Progressive Architecture magazine. 

An appointed member of the National Register of Peer Professionals for the US GSA, Schluntz has undertaken studies on design quality, design review processes, and urban design guidelines.  He has served as the Professional Adviser for over twenty-five major national and international design competitions, and currently serves on the International Competitions Commission for the UIA.  In recognition of his contributions and achievements, Schluntz was elevated to the AIA College of Fellows in 1996.  He was the 2017 recipient of the AIA New Mexico Silver Medal for Lifetime Achievement, and is recognized by the ACSA as a Distinguished Professor.