Historic Resources Committee

 View Only

Community HTML

Renaissance Schallaburg Figures in a facade

Quick Links

Who we are

The mission of the Historic Resources Committee (HRC) is to identify, understand, and preserve architectural heritage, both nationally and internationally. HRC is engaged in promoting the role of the historic architect within the profession through the development of information and knowledge among members, allied professional organizations, and the public.

HDP Announces Winners of the 2022 Peterson Prize

  • 1.  HDP Announces Winners of the 2022 Peterson Prize

    Posted 09-28-2022 03:52 PM

    The Heritage Documentation Programs (Historic American Buildings Survey / Historic American Engineering Record / Historic American Landscapes Survey), a division of the National Park Service, is pleased to announce the winners of the 2022 Charles E. Peterson Prize Competition.  A student competition of measured drawings, the Charles E. Peterson Prize is presented jointly by HDP, by the Athenaeum of Philadelphia, by the American Institute of Architects, and by the Association for Preservation Technology.  The annual competition, currently in its 39th year, honors Charles E. Peterson, FAIA (1906-2004), a founder of the HABS program, and is intended to heighten awareness about historic buildings in the United States and to augment the HABS/HAER/HALS collection of measured drawings at the Library of Congress.  In addition to generating over 7,100 sheets of drawings for the collection to date, the competition presents awards totaling $10,000 to the winning student teams.


    First Place in the 2022 Competition was awarded to the student team from the University of Texas at San Antonio, under the direction of Professor Sue Ann Pemberton, FAIA, FAPT, for their documentation of the Dining Room at Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona.  The student team at Ball State University, under the direction of Professor Jonathan Spodek, FAIA, was awarded Second Place for their drawings of the Interurban Bridge at Oldfields in Indianapolis.  Third Place was awarded to the student team from Georgia State University, under the direction of Professor Chad Keller, for their drawings of the Episcopal Church of the Redeemer in Greensboro, Georgia.  The set of drawings of William Wesley Peter's Conference Room at Taliesin West, produced by another UTSA student team under the direction of Professor Pemberton, was awarded an Honorable Mention.


    A list of the student members for the winning teams can be found on the HDP website at https://www.nps.gov/hdp/competitions/Peterson_winners.htm.

    Sample drawings from the winning projects can be found on the HDP Facebook page at


    The student teams will be honored in a ceremony held as part of the Association for Preservation Technology Conference in Detroit on 10 November.  Congratulations to all the winners!


    Mark Schara AIA
    National Park Service
    Washington DC
    23.01.26 CxD - Technology in cities session_final