View Only

Community HTML

The Academy page supports AIA's efforts to connect education and practice. AIA works with faculty, staff and students; practitioners; and collateral organizations to support excellence in education and research, expand the pathway to the profession, and prepare future architects. AIA regularly pools resources with AIAS, ACSA, NCARB, NAAB, and others to provide scholarships, educational programming, research, resources, and more.

Quick Links

Higher Education Webpage

Medal For Academic Excellence

Intersections Research Conference

K-12 Initiatives

Guides for Equitable Practice

CALL for 2022-23 Higher Education Advisory Team (HEAT)

  • 1.  CALL for 2022-23 Higher Education Advisory Team (HEAT)

    Posted 12-13-2021 10:59 AM
    Edited by Nissa Dahlin-Brown 12-29-2021 03:33 PM

    HELLO – Please share broadly!  CALL for applications EXTENDED!

     Applications are open for six faculty volunteers from US NAAB-accredited architecture schools for the AIA Higher Education Advisory Team (HEAT) for the 2022-23 term. This group meets virtually, quarterly, via conference call. They provide valuable insight to the staff of the AIA regarding architectural higher education, while also sharing with one another from campuses across the US.  

    The link to the online application is here with a deadline to apply of January 17, 2022. This portal will ask you to sign in with your AIA account information or create an account, then you can begin your application. You will need to attach a resume and provide an email for a reference.

     Complete information on the mission and structure of HEAT and emeritus members follows below and is included in the application portal.

    Please share with interested faculty working in NAAB-accredited Architecture programs in the US. Any questions, please contact me at Please share broadly with your community. Thank you.

    Nissa Dahlin-Brown, EdD, Assoc. AIA

    Director, Higher Education


    AIA Higher Education Advisory Team (HEAT) Operational Guidelines

    Mission:  To advise, share, and promote the issues, needs, trends, and aspirations of architectural education and educators, to continuously improve and inform the future of architecture, education, and development of future architects. 


    The seven (7) members of the 2022-23 Higher Education Advisory Team (HEAT) offer advice, expertise, and updates on issues in architecture higher education to the AIA Higher Education staff and other Institute staff as appropriate. One member is selected from the each of the six US ACSA regions, from institutions with NAAB-accredited programs, and serve two-year calendar year terms (January-December). AIA members are preferred, but not required. In 2022-23, a representative from the Coalition of Community College Architecture Programs (CCCAP) will be invited to serve a two-year term as an additional member of HEAT bringing the total to seven (7) members.

    Northeast (NY, VT, RI, CT, ME, MA, NJ)  

    Mid Atlantic (PA, DC, MD, VA, NC, SC, GA) 

    Gulf (FL, AL, MS, LA, AR, PR) 

    East Central (TN, KY, OH, IL, IN, WI, MI) 

    West Central (MO, MN, IA, TX, OK, KS, ND, SD, NE)

    West (CA, WA, OR, ID, MT, CO, NM, AZ, UT, NV, HI) 

    Application Process

    Volunteers will be selected from an application process directed by AIA staff and in consultation with current HEAT members. The application process will typically occur in November-December biannually, for terms running the following calendar two years. For example in 2021, applications will be opened in December 2021, with role to begin in January 2022. 


    Members, Selection, Emeritus Option

    Current members and AIA staff will solicit applications for all vacant positions. A Selection Committee, plus an AIA staff observer, will review applications and select new members. In the event of a vacancy, it will be the discretion of the AIA staff, whether or not, to fill the vacancy immediately or wait until the biannual call.

     To provide continuity, current members have the option to remain as Emeritus Members for an additional two years, following their appointment year. During which time, they can continue to contribute their expertise and recommendations, but are not bound by the meeting attendance requirements.

     Meeting Attendance & Frequency

    All HEAT members are expected to respond to email communications and conference calls. In-person meetings may occur at AIA or ACSA conferences and are optional. Conference calls/online meetings occur quarterly and last approximately one hour. If a member misses three consecutive meetings or calls, the advisory group may recommend terminating the member's position.  Termination/resignation is at the discretion of the advisory group in consultation with staff. 

     Members' Responsibilities

    Members shall uphold the standards of professionalism and responsibilities expected of a professional member and contribute to the advancement of the AIA and the profession of architecture. Members do not act on behalf of the AIA and are not legal representatives of the AIA. Actions of members shall not be contrary to official AIA policies and procedures. Members do not have authority over any AIA staff member, operational policy, or procedure. 

     HEAT Emeritus Members


    • Sharon Haar, FAIA, Professor of Architecture, Taubman College, University of Michigan
    • Nea Maloo, AIA, NOMA, NCARB, LEED AP, ICC, Lecturer, Architecture, Howard University
    • Karl Puljak, AIA, Director, School of Design, Architecture, Louisiana Technological University
    • Julia Robinson, PhD, FAIA, Professor, College of Design, University of Minnesota
    • Sandra Vivanco (deceased), AIA, Professor of Architecture and Critical Ethnic Studies, California College of Arts
    • Andrzej Zarzycki, PhD, Associate Professor, Hillier College of Arch & Design, New Jersey Institute of Technology


    • Daniel A. Barber, PhD, Associate Professor of Architecture and Chair of the PhD Program and (Summer/Fall 2021) Andrew Saunders, Associate Professor of Architecture, Director of the Master of Architecture Program, at the University of Pennsylvania Weitzman School of Design
    • Caryn Brause, AIA, Associate Professor at the University of Massachusetts Amherst
    • Nancy Yen-wen Cheng, RA, LEED AP, Architecture department head and Associate Professor at the University of Oregon
    • Linda Keane, AIA, Professor, School of the Art Institute Chicago
    • Hazem Rashed-Ali, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Architecture, The University of Texas at San Antonio
    • Kenneth Schwartz, FAIA, Director of the Phyllis M. Taylor Center for Social Innovation and Design Thinking, Tulane University

    Dr. Nissa Dahlin-Brown, Assoc. AIA
    Director, Higher Education
    The American Institute of Architects
    Washington, DC