Historic Resources Committee

 View Only

Community HTML

Renaissance Schallaburg Figures in a facade

Quick Links

Who we are

The mission of the Historic Resources Committee (HRC) is to identify, understand, and preserve architectural heritage, both nationally and internationally. HRC is engaged in promoting the role of the historic architect within the profession through the development of information and knowledge among members, allied professional organizations, and the public.

HDP Announces Peterson Prize Winners

  • 1.  HDP Announces Peterson Prize Winners

    Posted 09-15-2021 10:58 AM

    The Heritage Documentation Programs (Historic American Buildings Survey / Historic American Engineering Record / Historic American Landscapes Survey), a division of the National Park Service, is pleased to announce the winners of the 2021 Charles E. Peterson Prize Competition.  A student competition of measured drawings, the Charles E. Peterson Prize is presented jointly by HDP, by the Athenaeum of Philadelphia, by the American Institute of Architects, and by the Association for Preservation Technology.  The annual competition, currently in its 38th year, honors Charles E. Peterson, FAIA (1906-2004), a founder of the HABS program, and is intended to heighten awareness about historic buildings in the United States and to augment the HABS/HAER/HALS collection of measured drawings at the Library of Congress.  In addition to generating over 7,100 sheets of drawings for the collection to date, the competition presents awards totaling $10,000 to the winning student teams.


    First Place in the 2021 Competition was awarded to student Melanie Schuster of the Savannah College of Art and Design, under the direction of Professor Sabrinna Cox, for her documentation of the Rock House in Wendell, Idaho.  The student team at Ball State University, under the direction of Professor Jonathan Spodek, FAIA, was awarded Second Place for their drawings of the Canal Pump House at Oldfields in Indianapolis.  Third Place was awarded to the student team from Washington University in Saint Louis, under the direction of Professor Hongxi Yin, for their drawings of Frank Lloyd Wright's Samara House in West Lafayette, Indiana.  The set of drawings of the Cabaret at Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona, produced by the student team from the University of Texas at San Antonio, under the direction of Professor Sue Ann Pemberton, FAIA, was awarded an Honorable Mention.


    A list of the student members for the winning teams can be found on the HDP website at

    Peterson Prize Winners | HABS/HAER/HALS


    Sample drawing sheets from the winning sets can be found on the HDP Facebook page at


    The student teams will be honored in a virtual ceremony held as part of the Association for Preservation Technology Conference on 27 October.  Congratulations to all the winners!


    Mark Schara AIA
    National Park Service
    Washington DC
    Safety Assessment Program Evaluator Training 2023, December 6 and 7. Earn 6.5 LUs HSW