AIA KnowledgeNet Roundup: January 11

By Ann Novakowski posted 01-08-2013 12:59

A Call for Emerging Professionals: Opportunities with the Custom Residential Architects Network, Upcoming Honors & Awards Deadlines, 2013 Healthcare Design Conference

A Call for Emerging Professionals

Call for Submissions

The AIA Custom Residential Architects Network (CRAN) is looking for submissions from emerging professionals for their quarterly newsletter, the CRAN Chronicle. Specifically, we would like to find out how young architects contribute to custom residential projects, and what kind of work you do in their offices. Brief written descriptions (150-500 words) and graphics are welcome and encouraged! If you would like to be featured in an upcoming Chronicle, please contact

Call for Volunteers

We're also looking for an emerging professional to contact CRAN members and discuss their favorite products and custom residential best practices for publication in our newsletter. This is a great "micro-volunteering" opportunity for a busy professional who is interested in custom residential architecture. Network with AIA CRAN members from all over the USA within your own schedule. For more information, or to volunteer, please contact

Justice Architecture Research Portal

The Academy of Architecture for Justice has recently completed two different types of research projects. One was a partnership with a University to provide 10 summaries of already existing research reports and the other was hiring a research scholar to create a searchable database of over 400+ past JFR award recipients. Search the database now.

2013 AIA Awards: Submit Your Project

Education Facility Design Awards

Submission Deadline: 5 p.m. ET, January 14, 2013
The CAE Design Awards is an Internet-based marketplace of ideas. Through this forum the committee disseminates quality ideas on educational facility planning and design to clients, architects, and the public. As how we educate ourselves continues to evolve, we must evaluate and measure our successes, and have an arena in which to test ideas. This awards program is an opportunity to engage in critical evaluation and experimentation, not as an end in itself, but always in the context of our clients and their needs.

New for 2013: The CAE has integrated the American Association of School Administrators (AASA) Shirley Cooper and Walter Taylor Awards into the CAE submission and jury process. Since 1949, AASA has given these two awards in recognition of the two projects judged most outstanding for educational environments. The Shirley Cooper Award ispresented to the project that best meets the educational needs of its students. The Walter Taylor Award is presented to the project that best meets a difficult design challenge. If applicable, two CAE Design Award winners will be identified for these specific recognitions. Find out more and submit your project.

2013 AIA COTE Top Ten Green Projects Awards

Submission Deadline: 8 p.m. ET, January 25, 2013
The AIA COTE Top Ten Green Projects Awards program recognizes exemplary and innovative built projects that establish a standard of excellence in sustainable design, demonstrate its benefits, and educate both the profession and the public. Submit your project. View past award winners.

Top Ten Plus

Submission Deadline: 8 p.m. ET, January 25, 2013
Past winners can now submit for the new Top Ten Plus award by providing details on how the project is performing in terms of actual operations and occupant satisfaction. The Top Ten Plus award uses the same submission forms as Top Ten, with adjustments as indicated in the instructions on the forms and in this planning document.

2013 Justice Facilities Review

Submission Deadline: 5 p.m. ET, February 4, 2013
A unique category to the JFR is entitled Thought Leadership. Through this category we hope to elicit submissions for strategic or system-wide master plans, research studies, prototype design proposals and any other efforts that our membership are engaged in that further the profession in developing the most effective and innovative approaches to justice practice. While the graphic submission requirements do not directly apply to this category, we ask that submitters provide a succinct summary of the project in no more than 1,000 words. Graphic diagrams or other supporting materials are encouraged to assist the jury panel in quickly understanding the project. Find out more and submit your project.

AIA Diversity Recognition Program

Submission Deadline: February 6, 2013
We are now accepting submissions for the 2013 AIA Diversity Recognition Program. The AIA Diversity Recognition Program celebrates and invites the contributions of AIA members toward the goal of a more diverse profession. Up to twelve submissions will be selected annually to be recognized as Diversity Best Practices. An award will be presented to each selected recipient, whose diversity efforts will be featured in AIA publications and on the AIA web site. Find out more and submit your project.