Small Firm Exchange (SFx)

 View Only

hero image for SFX site

Leadership

Opportunities

Key Resources

Social Media

   

Who We Are

The mission of the AIA Small Firm Exchange (SFx) is to advance the mutual interests of architects practicing in small firms. The objectives of the AIA SFx are three-fold:

1. Advocate the value of small firms, the national SFx, and local SFx groups, both within the AIA and to the public.

2. Curate and disseminate the most pertinent resources and information, from the AIA & elsewhere, that benefit small firms.

3. Inform the AIA of current issues facing small firms and areas in which current resources/information are lacking.

Approximately 75% of all firms within the AIA are small firms (less than 10 employees), which equates to 14,459 small firms within the organization.

~26.8% = sole practitioners = 5,173

~33.5% = 1-5 employees = 6,459

~14.7% = 5-10 employees = 2,827

For context, small firms share of staff is 16.0% and share of billings is 12.0%

We need to find ways to leverage that size for collaboration and influence, just like the individual large firms do.

   

  

Current SFx Board

By Dana L. Ellis AIA posted 01-10-2024 10:30 AM

  

2024 SFx Board


Table Legend:

Bold
= Chair / Bold = Executive Committee

Representative Email
Alyse Makarewicz, AIA Alysem@ambarchitects.com
Bart Shaw, FAIA bart@ibanezshaw.com
Christian Jordan, AIA cjordan@pjarch.com
Dana Ellis, AIA dana@outpoststudioco.com
Darguin Fortuna, AIA dfortuna@flow-design-studio.com
Hayley Ruthrauff, AIA hayley@simbiotek.com
Janet Bloomberg, FAIA janet@kube-arch.com
Jen Wright, AIA jwright@rallymade.com
Jeremiah Russell, AIA jeremiah@roguearch.com
Joshua Zinder, AIA jzinder@joshuazinder.com
Julie Carpenter julie@aiacincinnati.org
Lewis Matthew Miller, AIA lewismmiller@outlook.com
Nathan Kipnis, FAIA nkipnis@kipnisarch.com
Scott Busby, AIA sbusby@smeebusby.com
Tatyana Bresler, AIA tatyanab@eglinbresler.com
Thomas Lawrence, AIA toml@lawrencearchitecture.com



Get involved!

The American Institute of Architects actively promotes a diverse profession, including race, religion, gender, national origin, age, disability or sexual orientation. We strive to be an inclusive member group representing diversity of thought, geographic diversity, both traditional and non-traditional practice and as well as providing opportunities for seasoned professionals, associate members, and young architects.

The mission of the AIA Small Firm Exchange (SFx) is to advance the mutual interests of architects practicing in small firms.   1. Advocate the value of small firms, the national SFx, and local SFx groups, both within the AIA and to the public.  2. Curate and disseminate the most pertinent resources and information, from the AIA & elsewhere, that benefit small firms.  3. Inform the AIA of current issues facing small firms and areas in which current resources/information are lacking.

 

Requirements of an SFx Board Member

    • Have served as an SFx State Rep previously.
    • Help cover any currently unrepresented states.
    • Communicate & Collaborate with the AIA and other Knowledge Communities and Member Groups
    • Curate, Facilitate, and Disseminate small firm content.
    • Join a minimum of one internal workgroup (Outreach, Conference, or a Special Project)
    • Passion to support our professional community, especially the needs of small firms
    • 8 - 12 hours per month including conference calls and personal tasks
    • Time off to travel to SFx Annual Meeting: 2-days, travel-funded

 

TERM: Three-year term with an optional one-year extension.

Because SFX board members must first serve as state representatives, there is no public application process.

Questions? Contact sfx@aia.org. 

 

0 comments
30 views