Small Firm Exchange (SFx)

 View Only

hero image for SFX site

Leadership

Opportunities

Key Resources

Social Media

   

Who We Are

The mission of the AIA Small Firm Exchange (SFx) is to advance the mutual interests of architects practicing in small firms. The objectives of the AIA SFx are three-fold:

1. Advocate the value of small firms, the national SFx, and local SFx groups, both within the AIA and to the public.

2. Curate and disseminate the most pertinent resources and information, from the AIA & elsewhere, that benefit small firms.

3. Inform the AIA of current issues facing small firms and areas in which current resources/information are lacking.

Approximately 75% of all firms within the AIA are small firms (less than 10 employees), which equates to 14,459 small firms within the organization.

~26.8% = sole practitioners = 5,173

~33.5% = 1-5 employees = 6,459

~14.7% = 5-10 employees = 2,827

For context, small firms share of staff is 16.0% and share of billings is 12.0%

We need to find ways to leverage that size for collaboration and influence, just like the individual large firms do.

   

  

Current SFx Board

By Dana L. Ellis AIA posted 01-10-2024 10:30 AM

  

2024 SFx Board


Table Legend:

Bold
= Chair / Bold = Executive Committee

Board member Email
Alyse Makarewicz, AIA Alysem@ambarchitects.com
Bart Shaw, FAIA bart@ibanezshaw.com
Christian Jordan, AIA cjordan@pjarch.com
Dana Ellis, AIA dana@outpoststudioco.com
Darguin Fortuna, AIA dfortuna@flow-design-studio.com
Hayley Ruthrauff, AIA hayley@simbiotek.com
Janet Bloomberg, FAIA janet@kube-arch.com
Jen Wright, AIA jwright@rallymade.com
Jeremiah Russell, AIA jeremiah@roguearch.com
Joshua Zinder, AIA jzinder@joshuazinder.com
Julie Carpenter julie@aiacincinnati.org
Lewis Matthew Miller, AIA lewismmiller@outlook.com
Nathan Kipnis, FAIA nkipnis@kipnisarch.com
Scott Busby, AIA sbusby@smeebusby.com
Tatyana Bresler, AIA tatyanab@eglinbresler.com
Thomas Lawrence, AIA toml@lawrencearchitecture.com



Get involved! Apps due July 8th.

The American Institute of Architects actively promotes a diverse profession, including race, religion, gender, national origin, age, disability or sexual orientation. We strive to be an inclusive member group representing diversity of thought, geographic diversity, both traditional and non-traditional practice and as well as providing opportunities for seasoned professionals, associate members, and young architects.

The mission of the AIA Small Firm Exchange (SFx) is to advance the mutual interests of architects practicing in small firms.   1. Advocate the value of small firms, the national SFx, and local SFx groups, both within the AIA and to the public.  2. Curate and disseminate the most pertinent resources and information, from the AIA & elsewhere, that benefit small firms.  3. Inform the AIA of current issues facing small firms and areas in which current resources/information are lacking.

Review the full position description. Applications for 2025-2027 board positions are due July 8th. Apply here!

Questions? Contact kathleenmccormick@aia.org.  

 

0 comments
50 views