Message Image  

Ideas Competition

Project Via Aequalitas

Winners were announced and had their work exhibited at the American Institute of Architects (AIA) 2011 National Convention and Design Exposition in New Orleans, Louisiana, May 12-14, 2011. Selected entries will be displayed on the AIA website. Read more about the winners in Mike Singer's AIArchitect article.

2011 Competition Winners

(To see the winners' designs, click on the project titles.)

1st Place: Project Via Aequalitas ~ Team members: Eric Liebmann, AIA, Tim Bertschinger, Megan Shiley, Alex Taylor, and Tom Zych, all with WDG Architecture.

Honorary Mention: Warp & Weft: Constructing Tokyo’s Olympic Selvedge Project ~ Team members: Nicole Marshall, Assoc. AIA, Jose Alvarez, Assoc. AIA, Marty Mcelveen, Amanda Rivera, AIA, Cristina Ungurea, Tracy Lea, AIA, Scott Simon, Assoc. AIA, and Michael Keller all with Eskew+ Dumez+ Ripple.

Honorary Mention: Urban Village Project ~ Stephen Zuber, Erik Maso and Suttiruck Wongsawan all of KGD Architecture.

TOTO Prize for the Best Universally Designed Bathroom: Tokyo Trusswork ~ Team members: Roberto Pasini, Andrea Ranieri, Alice Ranieri, and Matteo Lucc, of the design firm AUS in Forli, Italy.