Discussion: View Thread

Subject: Announcing the 2018 Leicester B. Holland Prize: A Single-Sheet Measured Drawing Competition

1.  Announcing the 2018 Leicester B. Holland Prize: A Single-Sheet Measured Drawing Competition

Posted 6 days ago
  |   view attached

The Leicester B. Holland Prize is an annual competition that recognizes the best single-sheet measured drawing of an historic building, site, or structure prepared by an individual(s) to the standards of the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), Historic American Engineering Record (HAER), or the Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS). The prize is supported by the Paul Rudolph Trust, the American Institute of Architects, and the Center for Architecture, Design, and Engineering at the Library of Congress, and is administered by the Heritage Documentation Programs of the National Park Service (HABS/HAER/HALS). The prize honors Leicester B. Holland (1882-1952), FAIA, chairman of the AIA's Committee on Historic Buildings, head of the Fine Arts Division of the Library of Congress, first curator of the HABS collection, co-founder of the HABS program in the 1930s, and the first chair of the HABS Advisory Board.

The prize is intended to increase awareness, knowledge, and appreciation of historic sites, structures, and landscapes throughout the United States while adding to the permanent HABS, HAER, and HALS collection at the Library of Congress, and to encourage the submission of drawings among professionals and students. The prize is also intended to reinvigorate the art of architectural delineation and composition in the tradition established by the Ecole des Beaux Arts. Beaux Arts methodology embraced the study and drawing of historic buildings as a crucial component of architectural education, providing an opportunity for young architects to gain an understanding of the principles of design and construction. Additionally, it was a means through which architects mined historic buildings for architectural motifs to be used in their restoration and new design projects. By requiring only a single sheet, the competition challenges the delineator to capture the essence of the site through the presentation of key features that reflect its historic and its architectural, landscape architectural or engineering significance. The Holland Prize competition is open to all those interested, regardless of experience or professional background.

Image of the 2017 Leicester B. Holland Prize Winner

The winner will receive a $1000 cash prize and a certificate of recognition. "Preservation Architect" the online newsletter of the American Institute of Architects Historic Resources Committee, will publish the winning drawing.

Entry Instructions
The individual or faculty sponsor must submit the Holland Prize Entry Form (pdf) by the required deadline. The entry form must be received prior to the receipt of the completed drawings. Upon receipt of the entry form, individuals or project teams will be provided with the requested number of blank sheets of Mylar or vellum for hand-drawn projects, or the AutoCAD title block for CAD projects. There is no charge for these materials.

30 April: Email deadline for submission of entry forms
1 June: Final date that HABS/HAER/HALS staff will review drawings and historical reports
30 June: Postmark deadline for submission of completed entries
Autumn: Prize winners announced

There is no cost to enter the competition.

Learn More
For more information on how to participate, rules and recommendations, submission guidelines, judging and rating scale and to see the
previous winning drawings of the competition, visit the competition website.

robert_arzola@nps.gov" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Robert Arzola
HABS Architect and Holland Prize Coordinator
Historic Documentation Programs 
National Park Service

Image Information: 2017 Leicester B. Holland Prize Winner: Wallace Libbey Hardison House, Stable (HABS CA-2921-A), Santa Paula, California (Ventura County). Delineated by: Jean-Guy Tanner Dubé.

Robert Arzola
HABS Architect and Holland Prize Coordinator Heritage Documentation Programs
HABS, National Park Service
Washington DC