2020 AIA Housing Awards and AIA/HUD Secretary’s Awards Celebration

When:  Feb 26, 2021 from 6:00 PM to 7:30 PM (ET)

2020 AIA Housing Awards and AIA/HUD Secretary’s Awards Celebration (1 LU/HSW)


AIA Housing Awards and AIA/HUD Secretary’s Awards recognize exceptional design in various types of housing. The winners’ designs represent the best practices in the field that reflect a commitment to sustainability, inclusivity, and accessibility to foster healthy neighborhoods and communities.

Our current housing crisis is an inevitable effect of the economic, social, and ideological imbalances in this country.  The panel will discuss various approaches that the winners are using to address these challenges through housing design. The panel will also explore the role of housing as an opportunity to rethink diverse forms of living, to provide innovative ways to combat shortages, and to promote a sustainable and responsible accelerated growth and densification.

Learning Objectives:

  1. Summarize various sustainability strategies through the selection of materials, innovative design applications, and indoor-outdoor connections to maximize the use of passive energy and reduce the need for environmental conditioning.
  2. Understand the concept of site activation for infill and prosperity. Learn how to utilize X-small house design to develop sites that are considered undevelopable, including designing infill housing on extremely difficult lots because of disinvestment, zoning restrictions, and unusual shapes.
  3. Explore innovative design approaches including the use of prefabricated elements to create a viable development proposition.
  4. Discuss new approaches in housing design, including the expansion of the definition of accessibility - access to housing not prevented because of social, economic, medical, mental health, and other typical impediments, beyond typical "accessible" impediments in the sense of physical and movement-based access.


Valarie Franklin, Moody Nolan, 2020 Jury member
Michael Willis, Founder MWA Architects, 2020 Jury member
Claire Conroy, Residential Design Magazine, 2020 Jury member
Guido Hartray, Marvel Architects, 2020 Jury member


Emily Roush-Elliott, Delta Design Build Workshop, 2020 Jury Chair



Knowledge Communities