Call for submissions: Frey Award

Starts:  Jan 21, 2020 6:00 AM (ET)
Ends:  Feb 27, 2020 5:00 AM (ET)
Associated with  Interfaith Design

Call for submissions

Edward S. Frey Memorial Award

Places of worship have long stood as emblems of artistic, spiritual, and architectural expression. The AIA Interfaith Design Knowledge Community sponsors the Edward S. Frey Memorial Award, which recognizes architects for their contributions to religious architecture and support of the allied arts.  

The award is named in memory of Rev. Dr. Edward S. Frey, who inspired architects to foster spiritual values in design and served as the Executive Director of the Commission on Church Architecture for the Lutheran Church of America.

Submission details

Eligible nominees for the Frey Award must be an architect member of the AIA. Nominations should consist of one letter of nomination from the submitter detailing how the nominee meets each of the three following award criteria:

  • Demonstrate a passion for and dedication to quality worship and sacred spaces
  • Foster spiritual values
  • Promote a cross-denominational community focused on religious arts and architecture.

Please address letters of nomination to the Frey Award Jury.

Submitter may optionally request letters of support from up to five other people. Supporting materials may also be provided. These materials might include a resume, testimonials, imagery, a bibliography, etc. The supporting materials are limited to five letter-sized PDF pages.

Submit now >

Deadline: Feb 27, 2020 at 5pm ET