International Committee

Latest Discussion Posts


  • Connecting, Innovating, and Sustaining with 21st Century Infrastructure Chicago, IL • November 1-3, 2016 Join the U.S. Commercial Service and the Illinois...

  • U.S.Design/Consulting ready for this upcoming opportunity – expected to be released in the next 6 weeks. INGUAT, the Guatemalan National Tourism Institute, will launch an international public bid for the feasibility study and elaboration...

  • The U.S foreign commercial service Office in Morocco is organizing a big event under the theme of “ Sustainable Cities and energy efficiency-Tangier ”. The event is taking place on the 7th, 8th, and 9th of September in the City of Tangier...

  • Register your Work Now in the 3rd Annual AIA-IR Design Awards Program As we announced at Convention and in our recent newsletter, it is that time again when the AIA International Region looks to celebrate excellence in international design and...

Latest Shared Files



    OTTAWA, ON (November 10, 2016) – The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) is pleased to begin accepting submissions for the 2017 Moriyama RAIC International Prize.

    The Prize, which was established in 2014 by Canadian architect Raymond Moriyama along with the RAIC and the RAIC Foundation, consists of a monetary award of CAD $100,000 and a handcrafted sculpture designed by Canadian designer Wei Yew. The Prize celebrates a single work of architecture that is judged to be transformative within its societal context and reflects Moriyama’s conviction that great architecture transforms society by promoting social justice and humanistic values of respect and inclusiveness.

    The Prize, awarded every two years, is open to all architects, irrespective of nationality and location. Any architect, team of architects, or architect-led collaboration is invited to submit a building or a related group of buildings that has been completed, occupied and in use for at least two years prior to the entry deadline. Candidates are limited to a single submission per award cycle.

    The winner is selected in an open, juried competition. An international jury of experts will consider a range of criteria in the evaluation of submissions and intends to include site visits to shortlisted projects in the search for a work of architecture that is inspired as well as inspiring.

    In 2014, the inaugural winner of the Moriyama RAIC International Prize was Li Xiaodong, of China.

    “Winning this award has brought me honor, international recognition and greater credibility and support for my approach to architecture,” says Li, who will sit on the 2017 jury.

    “It’s a very important Prize for me because it encourages meaningful ideas and is one of the few international Prizes that sends jury members to visit the finalist buildings,” says Li. “The definition of the Prize is also very special: how one single project can contribute to the human environment. The architectural culture of Canada is positive and eager to make a difference,” he adds. “I’m excited to take part in the jury and thank the RAIC for this opportunity.”

    The members of the 2017 Moriyama RAIC International Prize jury are:

    • Monica Adair, MRAIC: Co-founder of Acre Architects and 2015 Recipient of the RAIC Young Architect Award.
    • Manon Asselin, MRAIC: Co-founder of Atelier TAG and Associate Professor of Architecture at the University of Montreal.
    • Bryan Avery, MBE: Founder of Avery Associates Architects, London, England, author and lecturer.
    • George Baird, FRAIC: Founding Principal of Baird Sampson Neuert Architects, former Dean of the John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design at the University of Toronto, and Recipient of the 2010 RAIC Gold Medal.
    • Peter Cardew, FRAIC: Founder of Peter Cardew Architects, and Recipient of the 2012 RAIC Gold Medal.
    • Barry Johns, FRAIC: Jury chair, Chancellor of the College of Fellows.
    • Li Xiaodong: Winner of the inaugural Moriyama RAIC International Prize.

    David Covo, FRAIC, Associate Professor of Architecture at McGill University, will act as the Professional Advisor to the jury.

    The RAIC is also pleased to announce that the 2017 Moriyama RAIC International Prize winner will be invited to participate in the following edition’s jury, thus establishing a link between participants, winners and jurors.

    All submissions are due by March 8, 2017. The winner of the 2017 Prize will be announced on September 19, 2017 at a gala event in Toronto at The Carlu, an historic event space in Toronto and one of the city’s best examples of Art Moderne architecture.

    In addition to the main CAD $100,000 Prize, three students of Canadian schools of architecture will each receive scholarships of CAD $5,000. They will be chosen on the basis of a written essay.

Community Blogs

  • I am sitting in a very large room with concentric rings of desks with name placards on them indicating the country you are representing. Am I in the AIA Board room? Surprisingly, no. I am part of the United States delegation to the United Nations...

  • The AIA presentation at Pristina Architecture Week has shown again that the international community of architects has a special interest in the AIA and AIA Europe activities. The presentation included the brief history of AIA National and AIA...

  • I truly believe that the Institute and architects community would benefit from Mr.Thomas Vonier 's leadership.I feel very inspired to support people like him, who spend their lifetime promoting the architect's profession! Let's give him our support,...

    1 person recommends this.
  • Christmas bells were ringing. The sights and sounds of the yuletide season greeted me as I made my way through notorious Manila traffic that evening. Except, this was on the eve of Halloween and on that week, the anniversary of one of the strongest...

  • The Royal Institute of British Architects-USA President James Karl Fischer, RIBA, AIA, PhD , is a speaker in the Symposium. Dr. Fischer is dedicated to enhancing the participation of architects in their own governance and that of architecture, serving...