Historic Resources Committee

Renaissance Schallaburg Figures in a facade

Quick Links

Who we are

The mission of the Historic Resources Committee (HRC) is to identify, understand, and preserve architectural heritage, both nationally and internationally. HRC is engaged in promoting the role of the historic architect within the profession through the development of information and knowledge among members, allied professional organizations, and the public.

HDP Announces Peterson Prize Winners

  • 1.  HDP Announces Peterson Prize Winners

    Posted 08-12-2019 14:04

    The Heritage Documentation Programs (Historic American Buildings Survey / Historic American Engineering Record / Historic American Landscapes Survey), a division of the National Park Service, is pleased to announce the winners of the 2019 Charles E. Peterson Prize Competition.  A student competition of measured drawings, the Charles E. Peterson Prize is presented jointly by HDP, by the Athenaeum of Philadelphia, by the Association for Preservation Technology, and by the American Institute of Architects. The annual competition, currently in its 37th year, honors Charles E. Peterson, FAIA (1906-2004), a founder of the HABS program, and is intended to heighten awareness about historic buildings in the United States and to augment the HABS/HAER/HALS collection of measured drawings at the Library of Congress. In addition to generating over 7,000 sheets of drawings for the collection to date, the competition presents awards totaling $10,000 to the winning student teams.

    First Place in the 2019 Competition was awarded to the student team from the University of Miami, under the direction of Ricardo Lopez, for their drawings of the Casino (1921) at Vizcaya in Miami.  The set of drawings for the Drafting Studio (1938) at Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona, prepared by the student team from the University of Texas at San Antonio, under the direction of Sue Ann Pemberton, FAIA, was awarded Second Place.  Third Place was awarded to the student team from Montana State University, under the direction of Maire O'Neill Conrad, for their drawings of the Log Barn (circa 1895) at the Attanas Viaux Homestead near Gallatin Gateway, Montana.  An Honorable Mention was awarded to the student team from Ball State University, under the direction of Jonathan Spodek, FAIA, for their drawings of the Funeral Tunnel (circa 1870) at the Dayton National Cemetery in Dayton, Ohio.

    The awards will be presented during a special ceremony at the Association for Preservation Technology Conference in Miami in November.

    A complete listing of the members of the winning teams can be found at the HDP website at <https://www.nps.gov/hdp/competitions/Peterson_winners.htm>.

    Sample drawing sheets can be found on the HDP Facebook page at

    Congratulations to all the winners!

    Mark Schara AIA
    National Park Service
    Washington DC
    20.09.24 John Parkinson AIAU course