Historic Resources Committee

Renaissance Schallaburg Figures in a facade

Quick Links

Who we are

The mission of the Historic Resources Committee (HRC) is to identify, understand, and preserve architectural heritage, both nationally and internationally. HRC is engaged in promoting the role of the historic architect within the profession through the development of information and knowledge among members, allied professional organizations, and the public.

Entry Forms Due April 30 for Leicester B. Holland Prize: A Single-Sheet Measured Drawing Competition

  • 1.  Entry Forms Due April 30 for Leicester B. Holland Prize: A Single-Sheet Measured Drawing Competition

    Posted 04-03-2019 08:22
      |   view attached
    The Leicester B. Holland Prize is an annual competition, open to both students and professionals, that recognizes the best single-sheet measured drawing of an historic building, site, or structure prepared to Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) or Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) standards for inclusion in the HABS/HAER/HALS Collection at The Library of Congress.

    The winner of the 2019 Holland Prize will receive a $1,000 cash prize, a certificate of recognition, and publication of the winning drawing in "Preservation Architect", the online newsletter of The American Institute of Architects Historic Resources Committee. Merit awards may also be given.

    There is no cost to enter the competition.

    30 April: Email deadline for submission of entry forms
    1 June: Final date that HABS/HAER/HALS staff will review drawings and historical reports
    30 June: Postmark deadline for completed entries
    Autumn: Prize winners announced

    Information on how to participate, rules and recommendations, submission guidelines, judging and rating scale and the previous winning drawings of the competition, are available on the Heritage Documentation Programs, NPS website at https://www.nps.gov/hdp/competitions/holland.htm

    2019 Leicester B. Holland Prize Winner: Chesterwood, The Meadowlark (HABS MA-1348-A); Stockbridge, Massachusetts. Delineators: Tenzin Nyandak and Grace Meloy (summer interns for the National Trust for Historic Preservation). Advisor: Ashley R. Wilson, AIA; ASID; Graham Gund Architect, National Trust for Historic Preservation.

    Robert Arzola
    HABS Architect and Holland Prize Coordinator Heritage Documentation Programs
    HABS, National Park Service
    Washington DC
    Learn more