2014 Recipients

The CAE Design Awards is an Internet-based marketplace of ideas. Through this forum the committee disseminates quality ideas on educational facility planning and design to clients, architects, and the public. As how we educate ourselves continues to evolve, we must evaluate and measure our successes, and have an arena in which to test ideas. This awards program is an opportunity to engage in critical evaluation and experimentation, not as an end in itself, but always in the context of our clients and their needs.

Thank you to the 2014 jury members for reviewing and selecting the projects: John R. Dale, FAIA (Chair); Claire Gallagher, Assoc. AIA (Vice Chair); Fred Dust; Dutch MacDonald, AIA and Marsha Maytum, FAIA.To view jury comments, please select on the profiles below.


Baltimore Design School

Baltimore, MD
Ziger/Snead Architects
Design Excellence Award


Buckingham County Primary & Elementary Schools at the Carter G. Woodson Education Complex

Dillwyn, VA
VMDO Architects, P.C.
​ Design Excellence Award


Drexel University College of Media Arts and Design (CoMAD) URBN Center

Philadelphia, PA
MSR (Meyer, Scherer & Rockcastle, Ltd.)
Design Excellence Award



University of Chicago
Child Development Center Stony Island

Chicago, IL
Design Excellence Award 


Wilkes Elementary School

Bainbridge Island, WA
Design Excellence Award


Central Arizona College, Maricopa Campus

Maricopa, AZ
Merit Award



Coastline Community College,
Newport Beach Campus

Newport Beach, CA
Merit Award


James B. Hunt Jr. Library
at North Carolina State University

Raleigh, NC
Architect: Clark Nexsen
Associated Firm: Snohetta
Merit Award


Nathan Hale High School

Seattle, WA
Merit Award


PAVE Academy Charter School    Raisbeck Aviation High School  

PAVE Academy Charter School

Brooklyn, NY
Mitchell | Giurgola Architects, LLP
Merit Award


Raisbeck Aviation High School

Tukwila, WA
Bassetti Architects
Merit Award