Discussion: View Thread

  • 1.  Jim. Sealy, FAIA

    Posted 06-01-2020 11:11

    A tribute to Jimmy Wayne Sealy, FAIA – As most of his close friends know and as has recently been mentioned here, Jim Sealy died on May 9, 2020.  Jim was a true leader, a mentor to many and a friend to all who knew him.  If ever there was a consummate volunteer, it was Jimmy.  I knew him through his numerous voluntary contributions to the National Institute of Building Sciences, AIA and the International Code Council.  But, those were just three of many organizations that benefitted from his tireless efforts.  I was honored to be the first to tell him of his elevation to AIA Fellowship in 1993, an honor he felt humbled to accept, although it was certainly well deserved.  Jimmy's voluntary efforts were simply contributions (for which he never sought recognition) intended to improve our profession and the building process.  But, his legacy deserves to be honored and preserved as an example to others.  The following summarizes Jim's many contributions:

    • Recipient, Ronald H. Brown Standards Leadership Award presented by the American National Standards Institute and NIST, 2014
    • Recipient, National Institute of Building Sciences'  Lifetime Achievement Award, 2014
    • Recipient, Dallas Chapter of the American Institute of Architects' Lifetime Achievement Award, 2011
    • Elected Chairman, Board of Directors, National Institute of Building Sciences, 2010-11
    • Member, AIA Jury of Fellows, 2007-2009
    • Member, AIA Jury of Honorary Fellows, 2007-2009
    • Member, Board of Directors, National Institute of Building Sciences, 2007-2013
    • Awarded Honorary Membership in the International Code Council, 2006
    • Member Award from the National Institute of Building Sciences, 2005
    • Recipient, International Code Council's Bobby J. Fowler Award, 2004
    • Recipient, International Council of Building Officials' John Fies Award, 1999
    • Recipient, Dallas/AIA President's Gold Medal, 1999
    • Elevated to the AIA College of Fellows, 1993
    • Recipient, Wm. H. May Award, Dallas Mayor's Committee for outstanding service to the disabled community, 1992
    • Recipient, SBCCI's Alton T. Riddick Award, 1988
    • Appointed Member of ICBO' s Certification Advisory Committee for Examination of Accessibility Specialists, 1994-1995
    • Member, AIA's Building Performance and Regulations Committee 1985-2005
    • National AIA Liaison to the Board for the Coordination of the Model Codes, 1985-1995
    • Member, Underwriters Laboratories' Fire Council, 1994-2011, Emeritus Status 2011 onward
    • Member, Board of Trustees - Dallas Mayor's Committee for Employment of People with Disabilities,1986-1994
    • Chairman - Barrier Free Dallas Subcommittee of the Mayor's Committee, 1986-1994
    • Voting Member, SBCCI Fire & Life Safety Subcommittee, 1976-1993
    • Member BOCA Study Committee for enclosed malls,1976
    • Member of American Society of Civil Engineers Standards Committee for Permanent Railings, 1993
    • AIA Liaison for ANSI A-10 Committee for Construction Safety, 1993-1997
    • Speaker/Moderator/Lecturer at dozens of local, state and national seminars on accessibility, fire safety, EIFS, building codes, seismic safety, multi-hazard safety, means of egress and other topics
    • Member, FEMA/NIBS/BSSC Multi-hazard Assessment Forum, 1994
    • Member, Provisions Update Committee, NIBS' Building Seismic Safety Council (BSSC), 1995-1997 and 1999-2004
    • Member, FEMA/BSSC Steering Group for Multi hazard Assessment, 1996-98
    • Member International Code, Performance Code Drafting Committee, International Building Code, 1996-2002
    • Member ICC International Residential Code Drafting & Maintenance Code Committees, 1997-2004
    • Member, NRC/NAS Work Assessment Panel for The NIST, Building & Fire Research Lab., 1998-2005
    • Member, AIA National Task Forces on Accessibility and Building Codes & Standards, 1999-2001
    • Member, AIA Advisory Committee for Building Codes & Standards, 2000-03
    • Member, FEMA Task Force Steering Group, to Develop Performance Based Seismic Design Provisions, 2002-06
    • Member, Texas Task Force to draft new Accessibility Standards, 2003
    • Chair, NIBS' Building Seismic Safety Council, 2004-2006
    • Member, ICC's Means of Egress Committee 2004-2006
    • Member NIBS/MMC Committee translating the NIST recommendations from World Trade Center study, 2005-2006
    • Member, Editorial Board, Architect's Guide to Glass & Metal, 2006/2007
    • Parliamentarian, International Code Council, Annual Business Meeting, 2006
    • Member, Human Factors and Ergonomics Society, 2007 – present
    • Member, AIA Team to review Proposed ADAAG Rule, 2008
    • Participant, DHS' Summit on Designing for a Resilient America, 2010
    • Participant , Near Net Zero Energy Campus Roundtable, 2011
    • Chair, NIBS Building Seismic Safety Council, 2012-2017
    • Member, UL Standards Technical Panel (STP 2196), Electrical Circuits for Protective Systems, 2012
    • Juror, SBIC's Beyond Green High Performance Building Awards
    • Speaker/Panelist at the Construction Research Center of the University of Texas at Arlington, "Understanding Earthquakes in North Texas," 2015

    David Harris FAIA
    Harwich Port MA