Small Firm Exchange

hero image for SFX site

Quick Links

Who we are

The mission of the AIA Small Firm Exchange (SFx) is to advance the mutual interests of architects practicing in small firms. The objectives of the AIA SFx are three-fold:

1. Advocate for small firms within the AIA and in outside organizations and agencies.
2. Promote leadership in Small Firm professional development and practice; and
3. Facilitate and support the local component round tables and small firm networks.

Find your Small Firm Exchange representative 2020

By Amanda Jennings posted 01-01-2019 12:00 AM

  
Region State Representative email
California CA Amanda Harpstead, AIA aharpstead@aiacalifornia.org
Central States IA, KS, MO, NE, OK Greg Goss, AIA greg@drawarch.com
Florida FL, PR, VI OPEN OPEN
Gulf States AL, AR, LA, MS, TN Michael Lejong, AIA, LEED AP BD+C mlejong@mahgarch.com
Illinois IL Matthew Clapper, RA, NCARB, LEED AP mclapper@mad-start.com
International International Lara Presber, AIA lara@studiopresber.com
Michigan MI Kurt Neiswender, AIA kurt@sfarch.us
Mid Atlantic DE, MD, DC OPEN OPEN
New England CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT Mike Lassel, AIA, LEED AP mike@lasselarchitects.com
New Jersey NJ OPEN OPEN
New York NY Venesa Alicea, AIA, NOMA, LEED AP BD+C, WELL AP valicea@nyvarch.com
North Central MN, ND, SD, WI Chris Schmitt, AIA chris@roehrschmitt.com
Northwest & Pacific AK, HI, ID, MT, OR, WA Jennifer Cosgrove AIA jen.cosgrove@gmail.com
Ohio Valley OH Christopher Toddy, AIA christopher@architects-llc.cc
Pennsylvania PA Chris Dawson, AIA chris@chrisdawsonarchitect.com
South Atlantic GA, NC, SC Natalie J. Morgan, AIA, LEED AP natalie@morgan-architecture.com
Texas TX Eva Read-Warden, AIA eva@arkitex.com
Virginas VA, WV Colin M. Arnold, AIA carnold@arnolddesignstudio.com
Western Mountain AZ, CO, NM, NV, UT, WY Bruce T. Fallon, AIA bfallon@wpa-architecture.com




Get involved!


The American Institute of Architects actively promotes a diverse profession, including race, religion, gender, national origin, age, disability or sexual orientation. We strive to be an inclusive member group representing diversity of thought, geographic diversity, both traditional and non-traditional practice and as well as providing opportunities for seasoned professionals, associate members, and young architects.


We're looking for enthusiastic people who want to help make our profession better. If you have an interest in becoming a regional representative (particularly for the open positions above, please reach out to staff at kathleenmccormick@aia.org.

Details on Becoming an SFx Regional Representative


The mission of the AIA Small Firm Exchange (SFx) is to advance the mutual interests of architects practicing in small firms.  We 1. Advocate for small firms within the AIA and in outside organizations and agencies, 2. Promote leadership in Small Firm professional development and practice, and 3. Facilitate and support the local component round tables and small firm networks. | ROLE OF SFx Representatives:



    • Serve as a liaison to components in your region

    • Serve as a small firm advisor to the AIA national organization

    • Facilitate small firm content development


RESOURCES REQUIRED:



    • Passion to support our professional community, especially the needs of small firms

    • 6 - 12 hours per month including conference calls and personal tasks

    • Time off to travel to SFx Annual Meeting: 2-days, travel-funded


TERM: Three-year term with an optional one-year extension.


SUBMITTAL: 1. Letter of Interest; 1b. Provide a professional reference (name, email, and phone number) in your letter of interest.; 2. Resume.


Send submittal to the AIA staff director: kathleenmccormick@aia.org

0 comments
314 views