

THE RMH PRIZE

Call for Candidates for the 27th Richard Morris Hunt Prize 2017 Application

Purpose

The Richard Morris Hunt Prize (RMHP) is an intensive and curated six-month program, divisible in two or three periods, that carries a \$20,000 award for registered architects to pursue research related to contemporary challenges in historic preservation. Each year only one Fellow is selected. However, in years where the applicant pool demonstrates exceptional merit, a Scholar may also be selected by the Jury from the Fellow candidates for a shorter five-week specialized course of research and study with a \$5,000 award. As part of the RMH experience, the Fellow/Scholar benefits from guidance and access to a network of the leading historic preservation professionals in France and the United States.

The American Architectural Foundation (AAF) and the French Heritage Society (FHS) established the Hunt Fellowship in 1990, and it continues to foster and support cross-cultural professional exchange between France and the United States. U.S. design professionals study in France and French design professionals study in the U.S. during alternating years.

The Fellowship is underwritten by a generous grant from LafargeHolcim. A generous anonymous donor supports the Scholar residency.

Process

Interested 2017 RMHP candidates should be U.S. citizens, registered architects with 5+ years work experience, have a minimum of professional working proficiency speaking skills in French, and have the ability to travel to France for six months (spread across two or three periods.) The travel and research program for the American honorees will be established and managed under the guidance of the Managing Team in France. In addition, the Fellow/Scholar must submit a Final Report to AAF and FHS within one year of the last month of the Fellowship, the Scholar within six months. The Reports are intended to respond to the current issues in contemporary architectural practice.

Please submit letters of interest in French and English and your curriculum vitae to Thom Minner, U.S. RMHP Program Director, at tminner@archfoundation.org by July 31, 2016.

American Architectural Foundation



In your letter of interest, please identify:

- Your proposed subject of study,
- Your academic and work experiences that prepare you to undertake this Fellowship (it is important to demonstrate that you have sufficient subject matter knowledge and background in the fields that you are wishing to study), and
- How you will apply this international experience to your professional career after the Fellowship.

Review of Applications

At the close of the application period, AAF will review applications and contact selected applicants for a phone interview. Once the phone interview is complete, the applicant may be invited to submit a more detailed written proposal, letters of support, and his/her portfolio (please do not submit beforehand unless asked to do so). The RMHP Jury will consider innovative and thoughtful proposals that meet the intent of the Fellowship, which is to benefit the profession as a whole.

By October 2016, three to four select applicants will be invited to interview with the RMHP Grand Jury in Washington, DC. Jury Interviews will occur in November/December 2016.

For more details regarding the RMH Prize, visit www.rm-hunt-fellowship.org.

Any questions about the application may be directed to:

Thom Minner, U.S. RMHP Program Director, at tminner@archfoundation.org.

RMHP Selection Timeline

Advertisement of Fellowship February – July 2016

Deadline for Letters of Interest July 31, 2016

Telephone Interviews of Selected Candidates August 2016

Final Applicants Selected and Notified September 2016

RMHP Jury Interviews of Finalists in Washington, DC November-December 2016

Announcement of 2017 RMHP Fellow Immediately following Jury

Deliberations





Richard Morris Hunt Fellows 1990-2016

- 1990 John Robbins, AIA, Deputy Administrator, National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC
- 1991 Pierre-Antoine Gatier, Hon. FAIA, DSA École de Chaillot, Inspecteur Général des Monument Historiques, Architecte en Chef des Monuments Historiques, Paris; Président, ICOMOS France
- † Bonita J. Mueller, RA, DESCHMA École de Chaillot, PMP, Project Manager / Historical Architect, National Park Service / Denver Service Center / Design and Construction, Denver, Colorado
- 1993 Jean-Christophe Simon, DSA École de Chaillot, CEHCMA Architecte et Urbaniste en Chef De l'État, Directeur, Direction de la Maitrise d'Ouvrage, Centre des Monuments Nationaux (CMN), Paris
- 1994 Ruth Todd, FAIA, AICP, LEED AP, Principal, Page + Turnbull, Inc., San Francisco, California
- 1995 Linda Stevenson, AIA, LEED AP, Principal, Stevenson Architects, Inc., Sarasota, Florida
- 1996 Jérôme Francou, DSA École de Chaillot, Principal, Atelier d'Architecture Jérôme Francou, Lyon
- 1997 Yves Patrick Deflandre, AIA, Principal, Yves Deflandre Architect, New York, New York
- 1998 Stéphanie Celle-Riccio, DSA École de Chaillot, Architecte Urbaniste de l'État, Conservateur, Centre des Monuments Nationaux (CMN), Paris
- 1999 Elizabeth Newman, AIA, Principal, Elizabeth Newman Architect, Portland, Maine
- 2000 Stéphanie Zugmeyer, DSA École de Chaillot, Liberal Archeologue, Arles
- 2001 Raymond Plumey, FAIA, Deputy Borough Commissioner, New York City Department of Buildings, New York, New York
- 2002 Sabina Fabris, DSA École de Chaillot, Architect, Sabina Fabris, Paris
- 2003 Kyle R. Brooks, AIA, Preservation Architect / Photographer, U.S. General Service Administration, New York, New York
- 2004 Pascal Filâtre, DSA École de Chaillot, Tenure Lecturer, École Nationale Supérieure d'Architecture (ENSA), Nantes; Principal, Atelier d'Architecture Filâtre, Nantes
- 2005 Mary Brush, FAIA, Principal, Architect, Brush Architects, LLC, Chicago, Illinois





- 2006 Christophe Loustau, DSA École de Chaillot, Chef de Projet Senior, 2BDM Architectes, Paris
- 2007 Wendy Hillis, AIA, Executive Director, Preservation Durham, Durham, North Carolina
- 2008 Diego Rodriguez, DSA École de Chaillot, Maître Assistant Associe, École Nationale Supérieure d'Architecture (ENSA), Nantes; Principal, Atelier d'Architecture Diego Rodriguez, Paris
- 2009 Tina Roach, AIA, LEED AP, Associate, Quinn Evans I Architects, Washington, DC
- 2010 Vanessa Fernandez, Assistant Lecturer, École Nationale Supérieure d'Architecture Paris-Belleville; Principal, Agence d'Architecture Vanessa Fernandez, Paris
- 2011 Robert Hotes, AIA, LEED AP, Associate, Klein and Hoffman, Inc., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
- 2012 Elsa Ricaud, DSA École de Chaillot, Co-gérante de l'agence, Sunmetron, Paris
- 2013 Maya Foty, AIA, LEED AP, Associate, Architectural Resources Group, Inc., Portland, Oregon
- 2014 Laurent Duport, C+D Architecture, Nimes
- 2016 Lucas Monsaingeon, Philippe Prost, AAPP, Paris

Richard Morris Hunt Scholars 2012-2016

- 2012 Isabelle Michard, ABF, AUE, Cheffe duSTAP de Seine -et -Marne
- 2014 Axelle Macardier, DE, HMONP, DSA Ecole de Chaillot, Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication, Paris
- 2016 Florence Declaveillère, Architect ENSA Lyon, Master en Histoire de l'art et archéologie Université Lyon II, Adjointe à la Cheffe du Stap de l'Ain



