Small Project Design

Expand all | Collapse all

Form of Agreement - Custom Residential

• 1.  Form of Agreement - Custom Residential

Posted 11-03-2014 10:25 PM
    I'm interested in what others have found to be useful AIA Document forms of Owner-Architect Agreement for small custom residential design.  

I've had this sole proprietor office going for about a year, and previously was familiar with the B141/B101 Agreements.  I know that a B101 would completely overwhelm this client, and is unnecessary.

Is the B105 a good document?  What kind of fees does it include (hourly, fixed/lump sum, etc.)?

Any thoughts are welcome.

-------------------------------------------
    Steven Rieck AIA
    President
    SLRieck, Architect
    Fort Wayne IN

• 2.  RE: Form of Agreement - Custom Residential

Posted 11-04-2014 05:25 PM
    Steven,
    I've been using the B105 for custom residential for the past several years. It works well..not too long but long enough. However I usually send owners a letter of proposal to make sure we are in the same ballpark on fee and services before I send the B105. The letter of proposal usually has a lot more detail about scope and number of meetings etc. I typically add language to the B105 that references the letter.
    I like using the AIA software and having all of the contracts at my fingertips.  I share an account with another small firm and together we go through the "300 units " in a year easily wich makes it a good investment. I hope that helps.
    Cheers.

Thomas Ahleman AIA
    Principal
    Studio Talo Architecture, Inc.
    Evanston IL

• 3.  RE:Form of Agreement - Custom Residential

Posted 11-04-2014 05:53 PM
    I think B105 is pretty easy for owners And architects to understand. 3 pages, so not overwhelming.