Housing and Community Development

• 1.  Tiny Houses as a solution to the affordable housing crisis.

Posted 03-24-2015 07:43 PM
    This message has been cross posted to the following Discussion Forums: Committee on Design and Housing Knowledge Community .
    -------------------------------------------
    Hello,

I am a residential architect living in a solar-powered Airstream Tiny House.  Here in California, we are experiencing a housing boom that is completely unaffordable for most of the middle class.  I see the Tiny House movement as one possible solution for this issue. Even though the State of California requires a percentage of "affordable" housing units in every county and city, state and local laws and regulations are in conflict with each other and prevent counting Tiny Houses as affordable housing.  This indirectly prevents the creation of affordable Tiny House Villages.  Local cities and counties have their own prejudices with regard to "affordable housing" and are discriminating against the acceptance and creation of any solution related to this model.  I am seeking support though the AIA to identify, confront and resolve this pattern of discrimination so that we can have access to as many solutions to the affordable housing crisis as possible.  Please contact me if you can refer me to others working on this issue, either privately, locally on on the state level.

Thanks,

David Ludwig
    Sausalito CA

• 2.  RE: Tiny Houses as a solution to the affordable housing crisis.

Posted 03-24-2015 08:03 PM
    This is becoming a global discussion as well. We see architects looking for solutions of more affordable housing units and energy efficiency buildings! I would like to get other people's ideas as well! ------------------------------------------- Bardhyl Rama Intl. Assoc. AIA Operations Supervisor AST Balkans Prishtine -------------------------------------------

• 3.  RE: Tiny Houses as a solution to the affordable housing crisis.