Custom Residential Architects Network

Expand all | Collapse all

Working with Structural Engineers

• 1.  Working with Structural Engineers

Posted 09-24-2014 10:04 AM
    This message has been cross posted to the following Discussion Forums: Small Project Practitioners and Custom Residential Architects Network .
    -------------------------------------------
    I am the owner of a small residential design firm.  While I have over a decade of experience in my field, I am new to owning my own firm.  I lack confidence in my structural skills, so I developed a relationship with a structural engineer to assist me in developing my framing plans, and to size the structural members.  Its been a great relationship, but now that my projects are starting the construction phase, I am getting a lot of push back from contractors that the structures are over-designed. While I trust my engineer's calculations, I am also realistic that the contractor has built way more house than I have at this point, and has a better understanding for building standards.  Has anyone else dealt with a similar situation?  Any advice on how to determine when the contractor is right vs. insisting he follow the engineered designs?  Any books or other resources you might recommend?  Or any other business models out there that might give me the structural support (no pun intended) that I am looking for while accounting for standard business practices?

Thank you,
    Lisa Cohen AIA
    Architect
    LMC Architecture, LLC
    Fair Lawn NJ
    Jain us at AIA24 for practice-related sessions! June 5 to 8, Washington, DC, click here to learn more.

• 2.  RE:Working with Structural Engineers

Posted 09-24-2014 11:55 AM