Custom Residential Architects Network

• 1.  Thank you Houzz

Posted 08-26-2014 01:13 PM

With all of the angst that's been expressed about Houzz, I feel someone needs to give Houzz a shout-out. So thank-you Houzz for providing my clients with such a wonderful service! My clients see you as an invaluable tool to help them identify their likes and dislikes, and to communicate with their architect.

Yes, I'm a residential architect who is active with the AIA. I've also been kicked around in this forum for arguing that the term "Architect" needs to be better protected, or else it will soon become a generic term. However, I see the current frothing about Houzz's unwillingness to defend our profession as being misplaced.

Obviously, Houzz is a relatively new business model that is developing an understanding of its evolving market. CRAN is in active discussions with Houzz, and the two organizations are looking to see how they might best help each other. As an internet business, Houzz is given quite a bit of leeway in how it chooses to operate. However, as an architect, I certainly hope that Houzz will eventually show stronger support for our profession.

But regardless, I don't view Houzz as a business that is meant to promote my architectural practice, education anyone about my profession, or expand my client base. It would make no difference to me if Houzz decided to categorize my architectural practice as a decorating service. I simply view Houzz as an almost endless collection of images that helps me develop a quick and productive dialog with my clients.