Custom Residential Architects Network

• 1.  Architect refusing work...?

Posted 07-09-2014 10:08 AM
    I was reading through a Houzz.com ideabook and the comments that accompanied the article. The article was on what to expect when you're renovating a home. I came across this comment and thought it was relevant to share with this community.

"For our whole house remodel we ARE our own contractors, architects, interior designers and workers. I had finished off 3 basements and redone 3-4 bathrooms in my life previous to this, so I wasn't a complete newbie to remodeling. However this project was on a scale far greater than I had ever tackled involving complete redo's of the exterior and interior of the house. What was interesting was that we actually tried to get architect help in the beginning and could not - the architects would not take our small Ranch home remodel on. Not enough money in it for them we were told for such a small house (2800 sq ft)."

I'm going to take this with a little grain of salt because:
    1. The client may have thought they were talking to an architect, but it was not, it could've been just a residential designer.
    2. The architect may have decided that this was a CLIENT they didn't feel comfortable working with and used the excuse of the size of the project rather than saying they just didn't like the client. (but that's just poor communication skills)
    3. The client could have consulted with a commercial oriented architect who didn't want to take on a smaller residential project, and that architect didn't adequately explain the difference in specialties.

If the architect had actually refused this client flat out, based only on the size of the project, well, that just makes me sad.