Committee on Design

Why do you love being an Architect?

• 1.  Why do you love being an Architect?

Posted 09-17-2014 07:50 AM
    This message has been cross posted to the following Discussion Forums: Custom Residential Architects Network and Committee on Design .
    -------------------------------------------
    Some of you may have seen my posts in the last few months relating to being an architect and why you do what you do.  
    I am a student at the University of Wyoming completing my bachelors in Business Administration; and I am off to the University of Las Vegas in December 2015 to start my Masters in Architecture.  I am posting these different things not only for my class projects, but because I am really interested in what makes an architect, tick...and how we can work to improve why people love their jobs and how they get through their 8-hr day with a smile on their face.  
    I am currently reading The Progress Principle by Teresa Amabile and Steven Kramer; an amazing book on the inner work life balance and how employees live on positive events/progress at work to get through their day.  This book fascinates me because I would love to be CEO of my own company one day; and I would really like my employees to feel like the employees at Google: always positive, energized, innovative, and LOVE WHAT THEY ARE DOING!
    Below you will find some questions about how your life is at work and how that makes you feel.  I would really like to see what architects have to say about their jobs!  Feel free to answer some or all of the questions, all responses are INCREDIBLY APPRECIATED!

1. What are some of the things that you enjoy most about your job?
    2. What motivates you to stay at this job?
    3. What motivates you to perform well and give extra effort in your work?
    4. Is there anything that you wish you could change about your job?
    5. Is there anything that frustrates you about your coworkers or the organization you work for?